covid response

Public Services

Learn More

Stay up to date on the coronavirus in Tehama County

Learn More

Tehama County Stabilization Grant Program

Learn More

Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo)

Local Agency Formation Commission


TEHAMA LAFCO LAFCO is responsible in overseeing boundary changes to cities and special districts, the formation of new agencies, adopting sphere of influences for new city’s and special districts, and the consolidation of existing special districts. The goals of the agency are to ensure the orderly formation of local agencies, protection of open spaces and agricultural lands, and to discourage urban sprawl.
HISTORY OF LAFCO The end of World War II saw California experiencing a tremendous population increase, which resulted in the sporadic formation of cities and special service districts. The results of this development boom became evident as more of California’s agricultural land was converted to urban uses. Premature and unplanned development created inefficient, expensive systems of delivering public services using various small units of local government. Governor Edmund G. Brown, Sr. responded to this problem in 1959 by appointing the Commission on Metropolitan Area Problems. The Commission’s charge was to study and make recommendations on the “misuse of land resources” and the growing complexity of overlapping, local governmental jurisdictions. The Commission’s recommendations on local governmental reorganization were introduced in the Legislature in 1963, resulting in the creation of Local Agency Formation Commissions or “LAFCOs”, operating in each county except San Francisco.
If you require assistance regarding LAFCO please contact staff:
Scot Timboe, Executive Officer M.A.
OFFICE ADDRESS 444 Oak Street, Room I
Red Bluff, CA 96080 DEPARTMENT
CONTACT Direct line: (530) 527-2200
OFFICE HOURS: Office hours: 8 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.,  1:00 p.m. – 5 p.m. Monday through Friday

LAFCo COMMISSION MEMBERS: Candy Carlson, Board of Supervisors – Chairperson, John Leach, Board of Supervisors– Vice Chairperson ,Dave Demo, City of Corning, J.R. Gonzales, City of Red Bluff, and Martha KleyKamp-Member at Large

Link to District Information/Boundaries:



Skip to content