Recording Fees:

Regular Recording Fee (Includes Bonds and IRS Liens and Releases (GC 27361) First Page (limited to sheet 8-1/2 x 11):

Each additional page (of each document):



Non-conforming page size (other than 8-1/2 x 11)

Each page of entire document surcharge (GC 27361):


Release of Lien (GC 27361.3): $20.00  

Abstract of Judgments and Mechanic Liens Same as regular recording fee plus for each judgment debtor:


Recording Maps - First Page:

Each additional page:





Copy Fees:

Recorded Documents (per page):


Recorded Maps (per page):


Certification of Recorded Document:


Copy of Fictitious Name Statement:


Filing Fees:

Process Server Application: (plus recording fee for bond)


Legal Document Assistant or Unlawful Detainer: Assistant (plus recording fee for bond)


Preliminary 20-day Notice (GC 27361.9; CC3097):


Conformed Copy:


Fictitious Business

Any person who regularly transacts business for profit under a fictitious business name in the County of Tehama is required to file a Fictitious Business Name Statement with the County Clerk within 40 days of transacting business. Although registration of a Fictitious Business Name is required by State Law, this office serves only as a central depository of these names, neither approving or disapproving a particular name and cannot accept any responsibility for omissions, similarities, or duplications among the Fictitious Business Name Statements on file. The County Clerk cannot refuse to file a Fictitious Business Name Statement because the name is already being used by someone else. All original filings, as well as new filings with a change in the facts from the previous filing must be published in a newspaper of general circulation. (In Tehama County, it is the Red Bluff Daily News or the Corning Daily Observer). Failure to publish will invalidate the filing. The statement is valid for five years from the date it is filed unless there is a change in any information (except registered owner's address). A change requires a new statement to be filed within 40 days and the new statement would have to be published. 

Fee: Filing Fictitious Business Name Statement      $31.00  

Each additional business name after the first $5.00  

Each additional registrant after the first $5.00  

Statement of Abandonment of Fictitious Name         $26.00  

Statement of Withdrawal of Fictitious Name $26.00  

Certified copy of Fictitious Business Name $3.00  

Below are the forms and instructions in pdf format.

Fictitious Business Name Statement & Instructions

Abandonment Fictitious Business Name Statement

Statement of Withdrawal From Partnership Operating Under Fictitious Business Name

You may contact the Clerk & Recorder's Office at 527-3350 for further information.

Notary Public

To become a notary public, you must:

  • Be 18 years of age or older
  • Be a legal California resident
  • Satisfactorily complete a written examination prescribed by the Secretary of State
  • Obtain a notary public bond

A complete list of instructions and procedures on becoming a notary can be found at the Secretary of State's website http://www.sos.ca.gov/notary/


Filing Oath of Notary Public: $15.00 Recording Notary Bond (first page): $14.00 (each additional page): $3.00 Notary Signature Authentication: $7.00 

Marriage Services


To obtain a marriage license, both the parties must appear together at the County Clerk & Recorder's Office located at 633 Washington Street, Room 11, Red Bluff, Ca 96080.

    • The fee for a regular marriage license is $70.00. 
    • The fee for a Confidential marriage license is $72.00.
    • County provided Witness Fee for Civil Ceremony $30.00 
    • Both parties must be 18 years of age or older.
    • Each person must present one form of valid photo identification with proof of age. If either party has been granted a dissolution of marriage within 90 days of applying for a new marriage license, a copy of the final dissolution decree must be presented at the time of the issuance of the license.

    Your marriage license is effective immediately and valid for 90 days after issuance and can be used anywhere within the State of California ONLY. After the ceremony, the person solemnizing the marriage must return the license to the County Recorder within 10 days. (Family Code 359)


    County Clerk-Recorder Jennifer Vise is also the Commissioner of Civil Marriages. If you wish to have a civil ceremony performed by the Commissioner/Deputy, call 527-3350 to set an appointment. The fee for a marriage performed by the Commissioner is $53.00 (in addition to the license fee) and must be paid prior to the time of the marriage.


    To request a certified copy of a marriage certificate, the marriage license must have been issued in Tehama County

    Please send the fully executed application with a notarized signature along with a check or money order for $15.00 to the Tehama County Recorder, P. O. Box 250, Red Bluff, CA 96080.


    Click here to access the form to become a Deputy Marriage Commissioner for a Day








More Articles ...